Friday, 19 July 2013

Day ten: Munich, Germany

We had a pretty uneventful first day in Munich, as you could tell from of last blog post. One of the many things we failed to plan for were rest days. You have no idea when you're going to be exhausted from either waking an entire city, a late night out, or because you stayed up until crazy hours in the night talking to your super awesome new roommate. Sometimes you just have to decide to do a little less for the sake of your sanity (and your travel partner's sanity!). Both of us girls get quite cranky on little sleep and swollen feet, with that being said, we have made Munich our rest city. (I know, weird choice). 


Waking through the streets we noticed a lot of people drinking these iced coffees with ice cream in them. Obviously we had to get some. Best idea ever.


We also learned that if a meal is around 10€, there's a good possibility that it's enough food to share. We ended up getting two of these pasta plates. Not such a good idea, so much food.

Since we were too exhausted to give you all a proper post last time, I'll take a minute to vent about Munich's underground system. After having dealt with underground systems in Chicago, New York, London, and a few others, Munich's system is extremely confusing and it basically sucks. We thought that our exhaustion was the culprit, but no. End rant. 


First stop, BMW Welt. 




We pretty much decided we belong in a BMW. We just look too darn good in them.


Mini Coopers as well.



Never been this close to a Rolls Royce before. Love at first sight? 


We weren't able to do the welt tour because reservations are required. Instead, we headed across the street to the BMW museum. 







They had a Rolls Royce exhibit set up upstairs. The picture above is of the Rolls Royce designed for Queen Elizabeth when she was still a princess. Only eight of these were ever made!


Next stop, Olympiapark. This is where the 1972 Summer Olympics were held. We found hamster balls in the lake (hamsters, children, same thing).



There was some sort of rowing competition going on so we took a few minutes to sit and enjoy the fun. 


These were the ticket booths outside of Olympiastadium. Amazing to think that these now deserted booths were once packed with thousands of spectators.





We designated this day as laundry day so we decided to head back to our hostel to start a load. We grabbed a couple drinks at the bar in the lobby and met some weird people while our stuff dried. Once we realized that the driers at the hostel were terrible, we decided to head up to our room to hang up our wet clothing in hopes that they will air dry by he morning (they didn't). We stayed up for a couple more hours hanging out and making plans for the following day with our fun new roommate.


This was the first night all trip that we had AC in our room. It was pretty much the most amazing thing that has happened in ten days (just a little exaggeration, but felt like it at the moment). 

Prost!



















No comments:

Post a Comment